skip to Main Content

University of Hawaii

Electrical Engineering

Cognitive Radio for Wireless Communications: Concepts and Applications

Date: 2018-01-25           Add to Google Calendar
Time: 2:30pm
Location: Holmes 389
Speaker: Prof. Jae Hong Lee, Seoul National University


To meet rapidly growing traffic demands and accommodate large number of devices, more radio spectrum is needed to enhance the utilization of radio spectrum licensed exclusively to specific users. In cognitive radio, an unlicensed user, called a secondary user is permitted to access the spectrum allocated to a licensed user, called a primary user. When the primary and secondary users transmit their signals simultaneously, interference occurs at both users which degrades their performance. Interference at the primary user can be avoided by spectrum sensing technique which prohibits a secondary user from transmitting its signal when it detects a primary user's signal. Also, interference level at the primary user can be limited below a certain threshold by spectrum sharing technique in which the secondary user adjusts its transmit power accordingly. Some recent results on cognitive radio are introduced, and its applications and future research subjects are shown.


Jae Hong Lee received BS and MS degrees from Seoul National University, Korea, and PhD from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 1986. He was with AT&T Bell Laboratories and joined Seoul National University for which he is currently a professor and served as Director of Institute of New Media and Communications, and Chairman of EECS Department.

His research activities are in physical layer wireless communications such as energy harvesting, cognitive radio, D2D communication, and their applications to 5G systems and V2V communications. He served as chairman of the committee for coordination of 3G wireless communication technology development in Korea and was principal investigator in communications for ITS Grand Design Project of the Korean government. He is a member of Advisory Council of 5G Forum of Korea. His laboratory was designated as a National Leading Research Laboratory by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology of Korea.

He was President of the Korean Society of Broadcast Engineers, President of the Institute of Electronics Engineers of Korea, and President of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. He is an IEEE Fellow and IEEE VT Society Distinguished Speaker. He is a Fellow of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and Senior Member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea.